Hôtel Kyriad Paris BERCY VILLAGE
Official website 109 €Booking.com : N/A

Montparnasse

Paris: a city of art, history, and culture. On every street corner lies a new discovery. And every neighborhood tells the capital’s story. Every walk you take on this journey will lead you to a new discovery, a veritable explosion of the senses.

Once you have arrived in Paris, you can visit Montparnasse, located at the heart of the 14th arrondissement. This neighborhood is famous for it’s 59 story tower built between 1969 and 1973. This office building is 210 meters high, and was built where former Gare Montparnasse (Montparnasse Station) stood. The current Gare Montparnasse faces the tower. It houses several shops that will satisfy all of your shopping needs.

The 56th floor of the tower is the only one that is open to the public. There, you can visit a small exhibition that tells the tower’s history. You can also visit the great restaurant: Le Ciel de Paris (The Paris Sky). On top of offering a spectacular gastronomic menu, the establishment also provides you with a panoramic view of Paris, from which you can admire the city’s most beautiful monuments. And if the weather is nice, you can see up to 40km away. If this is the case, you’ll be able to see planes take off from the Orly Airport.

The Montparnasse neighborhood was originally called “Mont Parnasse” (or Mount Parnassus) by the students who recited verse on the grassy knoll and referenced Mount Parnassus, where the Muses lived according to Greek mythology.

During the 18th century, the knoll disappeared, but the name stuck. Starting in the 19th century, the neighborhood became a hub of artistic and intellectual life in Paris.

Many international artists, writers, and intellectuals (Pablo Picasso, Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, Hemingway, Apollinaire, and even Joan Miro…) lived there or set up their studios there. A creative and liberal atmosphere soon took over.

Nowadays, this Montparnasse has been lost a bit, but there are still some traces left over. You will rediscover this neighborhood’s charm through it’s bohemian and almost village-like atmosphere. There, you can find artists’ studios, small, unexpected green islands, and other attractions.

Nice things that Montparnasse has to offer from the second you arrive: Ossip Zadkine’s Sculpture (La Naissance des Formes), which can be found on Allée Georges Besse (boulevard Edgar Quinet); the Passage d’Enfer (Gateway to Hell), to the right of the Rue Campagne-Première, an elegant alley where the photographer Man Ray lived from 1922 to 1940, and a pretty house found at boulevard Raspail where Picasso stayed for a while in 1911.

Built in 1855, the Gare de Lyon (Lyon Station) was almost completely burned down in a fire during the Paris Commune in 1871 before it was rebuilt exactly as it was. For the 1900 Exposition Universelle, also known as the 1900 Paris Exposition, the station was completely replanned by an architect from Toulon, Marius Toudoire. The new building, along with its super facade, was inaugurated in 1901.

On the Rue Campagne-Première, you will notice number 31, a building that was magnificently covered by Alexandre Bigot’s ceramics, the same ceramist who decorated the Lavirotte building. And at number 17, you will discover a nice little impasse that is lined with studios.

At the Closerie des Lilas, you’ll find one of the mythical breweries in the neighborhood where artists and intellectuals such as Gide, Jarry, or Apollinaire would meet. And on the Avenue de l’Observatoire, you will see the superb “Quatres Parties du Monde” fountain, also known as the Fontaine de l’Observatoire. The beautiful and underrated Jardin des Grands Explorateurs runs along this avenue, and is surrounded by beautiful buildings with stunning architecture.

You can also visit a stunning hidden garden: the Jardin Botanique de la Faculté des Sciences Pharmaceutiques et Biologiques, and the Jardin de Luxembourg. If you go along the Rue Auguste Comte from inside the garden and exit through the Assas entrance that leads to Rue Vavin, you’ll discover the Zadkine Museum, created by the Russian-born French sculptor, Ossip Zadkine (1890-1967). It brings together the artist’s sculptures and work on paper from when he was young up through his Cubism phase. It also houses some of his wife, Valentine Prax’s works.

At number 26 Rue Vavin, you will discover a super white ceramic building designed by architect Henri Sauvage — the top floors are terraced.

Symbols of Montparnasse’s golden age can be found from the Rue Notre-Dame-des-Champs to the Rue de la Grande Chaumière, A plaque found at number 8 reminds us that Gauguin and Modigliani both had studios in this building.

The Académie Colarossi stood at number 10, named after Filippo Colarossi, where Rodin taught, among others. And at number 14, you’ll see a painting academy founded by Antoine Bourdelle.

To continue your discovery of the neighborhood, go to the Montparnasse Cemetery where several famous people are buried such as Jean-Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir, Serge Gainsbourg, Samuel Beckett, Antoine Bourdelle, Ossip Zadkine, Constantin Brancusi, among others.
Visit Rue la Gaité, Rue Raymond Losserand, Rue des Thermopyles, and Avenue du Maine, all streets that are worth a visit. Continue onto the Notre-Dame-du-Travail church.

The Montparnasse neighborhood also houses other attractions, such as the Cité des Arts and the Musée de La Poste.

2019-05-14T17:43:58+02:00

Hôtel Kyriad Paris BERCY VILLAGE
Site Officiel 109 €Booking.com : N/A

Montparnasse

Paris : ville d’art, d’histoire et de culture. A chaque coin de rue, c’est une découverte. Et chaque quartier porte en lui la mémoire de la capitale. Chacune de vos promenades fera de votre voyage une découverte, une véritable explosion des sens.

Une fois à Paris, vous pourrez visiter Montparnasse, situé au cœur du 14ème arrondissement. Ce quartier est célèbre pour sa Tour de 59 étages construite entre 1969 et 1973. Cet immeuble de bureaux d’une hauteur de 210 mètres, s’élève à l’emplacement de l’ancienne Gare Montparnasse. La Gare Montparnasse actuelle se trouve juste en face de la Tour. Vous y trouverez de nombreux commerces et de quoi satisfaire vos envies shopping.

Le 56ème étage est le seul à être ouvert au public. C’est là que se trouve une petite exposition relatant l’histoire de la tour. Et c’est aussi là que se trouve un grand restaurant : le Ciel de Paris. En plus de vous proposer une superbe carte gastronomique, l’établissement vous permettra aussi de bénéficier d’une vue panoramique de Paris, il vous sera alors possible d’admirer les plus beaux monuments parisiens. Et si les conditions météorologiques sont favorables, il vous sera possible de voir jusqu’à 40 km. Ainsi, vous pourrez par exemple distinguer clairement les avions décoller depuis l’Aéroport d’Orly.

Le quartier du Montparnasse était appelé initialement « Mont Parnasse » par les étudiants qui récitaient des vers sur la butte et qui voulaient faire référence au Mont Parnasse, la résidence des Muses de la mythologie grecque.

Au cours du XVIIIème siècle, la butte a disparu mais le nom, lui, est resté. A partir du XIXème siècle, le quartier devint un haut lieu de la vie artistique et intellectuelle parisienne.

De nombreux artistes internationaux (Pablo Picasso, Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, Hemingway, Apollinaire ou encore Joan Miro…) s’y installèrent ou y installèrent leurs ateliers. Et aussitôt une atmosphère créative et libertaire fut installée.

Aujourd’hui, ce Montparnasse est un peu perdu, mais il reste encore quelques traces. Vous y redécouvrirez les charmes du quartier à travers son atmosphère bohémienne et presque villageoise. Vous y trouverez des ateliers d’artistes aux îlots de verdure insoupçonnés et d’autres curiosités.

De jolies choses que Montparnasse vous offrira dès votre arrivée : la Sculpture d’Ossip Zadkine (la Naissance des Formes), qui se trouve dans l’allée Georges Besse (boulevard Edgar Quinet) ; le passage d’Enfer, à droite de la rue Campagne-Première, élégant passage où vécut le photographe Man Ray de 1922 à 1940 ; la jolie maison du 242 boulevard Raspail où s’installa de manière passagère Picasso en 1911.

Construite en 1855, la gare de Lyon est presque totalement brûlée par un incendie lors de la Commune de Paris en 1871, avant d’être reconstruite à l’identique. Pour l’Exposition Universelle de 1900, la gare est entièrement repensée par l’architecte toulonnais Marius Toudoire. Le nouvel édifice, doté d’une superbe façade, est inauguré en 1901.

Dans la rue Campagne-Première, vous remarquerez l’immeuble au 31 de la rue, magnifiquement revêtu par le Grès d’Alexandre Bigot, le même céramiste qui décora l’immeuble Lavirotte. Et au n°17, vous découvrirez aussi une jolie impasse bordée d’ateliers.

A la Closerie des Lilas, vous trouverez l’une des mythiques brasseries du quartier où se croisaient artistes et intellectuels comme Gide, Jarry ou Apollinaire. Et dans l’avenue de l’Observatoire, vous verrez la superbe Fontaine des « Quatre Parties du Monde, appelée aussi Fontaine de l’Observatoire. Tout au long de l’avenue se trouve le joli et méconnu Jardin des Grands Explorateurs, bordé de bâtiments à l’architecture étonnante.

Vous pourrez aussi visiter un étonnant jardin caché : le Jardin Botanique de la Faculté des Sciences Pharmaceutiques et Biologiques, et le jardin du Luxembourg. En longeant la rue Auguste Comte depuis l’intérieur du jardin et en sortant par la porte d’Assas qui donne sur la rue Vavin, vous découvrirez le Musée Zadkine, né de la volonté du sculpteur français d’origine russe Ossip Zadkine (1890-1967). Il regroupe les sculptures et les œuvres sur papier de l’artiste, de sa période de jeunesse à sa participation au mouvement cubiste. Il comprend également des œuvres de son épouse Valentine Prax.

Au n°26 de la rue Vavin, vous découvrirez un superbe immeuble en céramique blanche réalisé par l’architecte Henri Sauvage – les derniers étages sont construits en terrasse.

De la rue Notre-Dame-des-Champs à la rue de la Grande Chaumière, c’est tout un symbole, celui des grandes heures de Montparnasse. Une plaque au n°8 rappelle que Gauguin et Modigliani eurent leurs ateliers dans cet immeuble.

Au n° 10 était l’Académie Colarossi, du nom du sculpteur Flippo Colarossi, où enseigna entre autres Rodin. Enfin, vous verrez au n° 14 une académie de peinture fondée par Antoine Bourdelle.

Pour continuez la découverte du quartier allez au Cimetière du Montparnasse où sont inhumés de nombreuses personnalités comme Jean-Paul Sartre et Simone de Beauvoir, Serge Gainsbourg, Samuel Beckett, Antoine Bourdelle, Ossip Zadkine, Constantin Brancusi…

Visitez les rues la Gaité, Raymond Losserand, des Thermopyles ou encore l’Avenue du Maine. Poursuivez votre visite jusqu’à l’Église Notre-Dame-du-Travail.

Le quartier Montparnasse vous réserve d’autres découvertes : la cité des Arts et le musée de la Poste.

2019-05-14T15:37:07+02:00